GARDP is led by its Director who also serves as a member of DNDi‘s Executive Team.

Board of Directors

The DNDi Board of Directors oversees GARDP’s activities, with expert advice from the GARDP Scientific Advisors. It is made up of 10 to 13 members including a patient advocate, with each of six Founding Partners nominating one board member. In principle, Board members serve for a term of four years. The Board of Directors elects the Chair, the Secretary and the Treasurer among its members. The Board of Directors is then free to appoint up to 5 additional board members that fill skill areas not represented by the board members appointed by the Founding Partners or the patient advocate. The Chair of the DNDi SAC and the Executive Director are permanent invitees. More

Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee is composed of scientists with expertise in various scientific disciplines relating to antimicrobial resistance, and/or to the specific reality of patients. The committee operates independently of the Board of Directors and the Executive Team. The Board of Directors approves the selection of members. Their mission is to advise the Board of Directors on matters related to research and development and choice of projects as well as quality of the scientific production.


Jutta Heim

University of Basel, Switzerland

Karl-Heinz Altmann

Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Switzerland

Rashmi H Barbhaiya

Advinus Therapeutics, India

Graeme Bilbe

DNDi, Switzerland

Anthony Coates

St George’s University, UK

Patrice Courvalin

Institut Pasteur, France

George L Drusano

Institute for Therapeutic Innovation, University of Florida, USA

Maria Cecilia Ferreyra

Médecins Sans Frontières, Spain

Mark J Goldberger

Fomerly AbbVie, USA

Herman Goossens

Antwerp University Hospital, Belgium

Robert Gurny

University of Geneva, Switzerland

Shabir A Madhi

National Institute for Communicable Diseases, SA

Nicola Magrini

WHO, Switzerland

Lúcia Martins Teixeira

Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Marc Mendelson

University of Cape Town, South Africa

Malcolm Page

Formerly Roche, Switzerland

David Shlaes

Formerly Case Western Reserve University, USA

 Kazuhiro Tateda 

  Toho University, Japan

Kamini Walia

Indian Council of Medical Research, India

Nicholas White

Mahidol University, Thailand

Yonghong Xiao

Zhejiang University, China